Reactions: FED UP

I just watched the documentary FED UP, with Katie Couric and Laurie David, by Stephanie Soechtig.

WOW. What the hell?!

I think what pissed me off the most (and the reason that I’ve started this blog) is because throughout the course of the film I kept seeing one recurring theme. NO ONE IS LOOKING OUT FOR US. Bottom line. No one is out there fighting for the collective public health. Lobbyists only care about advancing the agendas of their own sectors, and no one is standing up for the “little people” like you and me telling us that these people are killing us. Ignorance is not bliss when you have a 15-year-old kids who weigh 400 pounds. Ignorance is shameful. As is not doing anything to change it. The United States government, as well as the World Health Organization, should be ashamed for allowing themselves to be bullied by special interest groups. And don’t get me started on the special interest groups themselves.

My husband and I have a son, who is the most perfect little man in the entire world. I couldn’t live with myself if I allowed anything to happen to him, especially not a preventable disease like diabetes. I want to be a good example for him, and teach him the right things so that he can make smart choices for himself.

My husband has always been a huge fan of the “eat less, move more” school of thought… that if we exercise we can negate any of the evil effects of overeating. Exercise justifies treats, like using MyFitnessPal to track calories in and calories out to know how many M&Ms you can have as a snack based on your calories remaining for the day. The system of counting calories is flawed because the food that we’re eating is engineered in a lab; it’s not following the same rules that you’d expect. They give a great example in the movie of how your body processes almonds versus a soft drink. Both are 160 calories, but the messages they send our bodies are worlds apart.

This blog is going to be my personal “Real Food” journey. I want the processed foods out of my house immediately, and I want to go back to basics so that we can get our health on track.

Thanks for joining me, and I hope that my experience may inspire you to do something good for yourself too. If not, at least check in with me to make sure I’m staying accountable to my lofty goals 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

