C-S-A! C-S-A!

Guys, I’m so excited! My sister-in-law Amanda signed up for the CSA at Cecil Creek Farm, and I asked to share in her loot!

http://cecil-creek-farm.myshopify.com/

In case you have never heard of CSA, let me give you the 5-second rundown. It stands for “Community Supported Agriculture.” When you purchase a membership to a farm, it means that you essentially own a piece of the harvest, so you get a share of whatever the farm produces. Every farm does it differently, but at Cecil Creek it’s a 22-week season, so from late May to October, we’ll get to go once a week and fill a basket with whatever is ripe and fresh from the field. It’s the most pure form of farm-to-table there is. I went with her last year and absolutely loved it. I can’t wait to teach my son about local farming and agriculture!

Today was pretty good food-wise. I went to the store tonight and spent a ridiculous amount of money on food, but I feel great about the stuff I got. I won’t have to go back for meat for a while… I pretty much bought one of everything they had. *headdesk*

IMG_5320[1]

Here was my day:

Breakfast – Two eggs and 3 links of sausage. Mixing it up from the bacon. Anyone else LOVE eggs in the morning?! My day is all messed up if I don’t have breakfast with some sort of egg involved.

Snack – GREEN SMOOTHIE! My kid loves this. I did an extra large banana, 1 cup of orange juice, 1 handful of frozen peaches, 1 handful of frozen pineapple, and 2 big handfuls of spinach. It’s delicious! And since I haven’t figured out how to get him to eat leafy greens yet, this is how we get ’em.

Lunch – I had to kind of scrounge around for this one. I was mostly out of chicken (I had a teeny tiny bit left) but I had some fresh veggies and olives so I kind of threw it all on a plate with some EVOO, salt, pepper, and garlic and dipped the crap out of it. It was messy, and weird looking, but it worked.

Snack – Apple and almonds

Dinner – I was searching online for some fun recipes and I ran into this one on Primally Inspired.  http://www.primallyinspired.com/greek-meatballs-avocado-tzatziki-sauce/  I didn’t have lamb, but I had everything I needed for the meatballs! I can’t have dairy (as a personal choice) so I didn’t get to try the sauce. Instead I made more zucchini noodles and homemade tomato sauce that I froze from my tomato-sauce making tsunami this summer. It was pretty good! I overcooked the meatballs, but overall a great dinner.

Beside my never-ending sugar cravings (right now the only thing I can think of is how I want rich, creamy, sweet coffee as a I write and do homework) this whole no-sugar thing isn’t that bad. I think it’s because of a few things. (1) I work from home and prepare my own meals 100% of the time, so it’s not like I’m exposed to anything delicious on my commute or at the office. (2) I’ve done this before, so I have already accepted how much it sucks. (3) I’m already feeling results, so that’s a huge motivator. (4– and most importantly) This blog is keeping me accountable, so I know I can’t mess up because (I hope) you guys will call me on it!

I think I’m going to settle for some hot English Breakfast tea … plain… but maybe I’ll get frisky and add a slice of lemon. I’ve got some schoolwork to get done, so take care until tomorrow!  ❤

 

 

2 thoughts on “C-S-A! C-S-A!

  1. Amanda says:

    CSA!!!! I’m so excited! New farm and more options then the last one. Also I’m loving the “u pick” section. To be able to get our own fresh herbs will be amazing! And such variety! 😀😀😀

    Like

  2. rjkreiner says:

    Have you tried coconut milk in your coffee? It’s naturally a bit sweet, and is really yummy in iced coffees (I’m a black hot coffee person, so I’ve not tried it in hot). Just a thought.

    Like

Leave a Reply

