What I’m Actually Doing

Yesterday was an exciting blog day! Over 100 of my friends, family, and fellow bloggers checked in with me for Week 1. So cool!

A few of you asked what the hell I’m doing. HAHA

Answer: It’s a loose combination of Whole 30 and Paleo.

What’s Whole 30, you ask? It’s an elimination diet that’s supposed to work as a “reset” button for your body. It’s a 30-day challenge of eating only fruits, vegetables, protein, and healthy fat. I first heard about paleo/Whole 30 from a friend I used to work with, but it wasn’t until the Brown Eyed Baker blogged about it (http://www.browneyedbaker.com/whole30-experience-results/) that I actually seriously considered it.

Honestly, if a girl who makes her living baking and eating delicious food can do it, I can too, right?

The way you’re supposed to do it is like this:

“The cornerstone of the eating plan is for each meal to include at least three ounces of protein (or at least two eggs), two cups of vegetables, and one tablespoon of healthy fat (olive oil, clarified butter/ghee, coconut oil, avocado, nuts, almond butter, etc.). In addition, up to two servings of fruit a day.”

I am not that rigid. I figure that eating fruit and vegetables and not eating junk is a huge improvement over what I had been doing anyway, and if I can’t have sugar but I have a craving, I’m not going to worry about having an apple or a handful of grapes. I’ve got bigger problems. 🙂

This site was a huge help for me when I first started:

http://www.buzzfeed.com/christinebyrne/whole30-and-flirty-and-thriving#.umpZBJRYd

Here’s one of the new recipes I tried out!!! Paleo Twice Baked Breakfast Sweet PotatoesIMG_5394[1]

Paleo Twice Baked Breakfast Sweet Potatoes

So, the first time I did this I did it correctly, just like the picture in the URL. But I overcooked the egg on top so it was more like a fried egg instead of a runny egg. Boo that. So the next time I tried it I intended to do the sweet potato the way it was written, and just put an over-easy egg on top. Well…. it didn’t work out the way I hoped! I microwaved the sweet potatoes to make them softer faster (dude, it was 7:30 am, I wasn’t waiting 40-some minutes for potatoes to bake) but I ended up cooking them too long, and the skin peeled away when I was scooping out the inside. So I just put the insides in corningware and put the egg on top. It was actually really good, and so much easier! An egg takes only a few minutes, so it was a great compromise. Try it out!!

Here was what I ate on Monday. My mother-in-law and sister-in-law came over to babysit the munchkin, so we made roasted pork loin, a strawberry spinach salad with balsamic dressing, green beans, and honeydew. My good friend from childhood came over for dinner, so we made roasted garlic potatoes, asparagus, and STEAK! Whooop! We were rocking it.

IMG_5448[1]

Hope you all have a great day today!

2 thoughts on “What I’m Actually Doing

  1. Donna says:

    Looks delicious! Most of my lunches and dinners are like this. I too have used the Leslie Sansone workouts! They are a great way to work up to a more rigorous routine, if you want to.
    Keep up the good work! Love your take on this plan!

    *I may have accidentally replied to Amanda. Oops!

    Like

Leave a Reply

