Going to be a (Great) Friday!

Happy “Good Friday” to all who celebrate! If you gave up something for Lent (calling all Catholics), it’s time to decide if you want it back. If you added something extra… like added more patience in your life, or more time for other people… I hope you’ve found it to be beneficial!

Me? I didn’t do Lent this year. I know, I’m a terrible person.

BUT! I have a great recipe that you can bring to your Easter Brunch!

How do you guys feel about frittata? I’ve been in love with it since I discovered it was way easier to make at home than quiche. It’s basically an egg cake with whatever you want in it. Some people make them for dinner meals, but I’ve always done them for breakfast. People also do versions of frittata and put them in muffin tins for individual servings. (This one is amazing, in case you’re looking for something like that!) Me? I throw everything I want inside of it in a saucepan… usually some sort of meat, spinach, and cut-up veggies… add eggs, and let the magic happen.

Here’s the one that I found on a paleo website and tried out. It’s zucchini, sweet potatoes, and I added chunks of breakfast sausage. I think this would also be good if you have roasted or caramelized butternut squash.

I (loosely) followed this recipe.

I didn’t have any red bell peppers so hers looks better than mine, but I bet mine tastes better!

Try it out, it was delicious! I never thought to put sweet potatoes in one before, but I cut them small enough that it felt like little sweet surprises in each bite. 🙂 I’m glad I added the sausage. For me, personally, I like something a little salty in my breakfast life.

Here’s what I did. And don’t worry about measuring this stuff, it can really be about how much you like as long as you have enough eggs to keep everything together:

  1. Browned sausage, got them out of the pan and put them aside.
  2. Sauteed sweet potatoes until soft and caramelized
  3. Quick-cooked zucchini… this is a tough one. I like it soft, but I knew it was going to keep cooking even inside the frittata. I should have probably cut my slices a tad thicker.
  4. READY TO BUILD: I put a layer of zucchini slices on the bottom, then added in a handful of my sausage and sweet potato. Then, put half of my eggs in, and repeated.
  5. You want to turn your heat WAY DOWN on the stove and let it sit, but then move it to broil in the oven so you can get the crunchy top.

Enjoy, and I hope you all have a GREAT Friday and a wonderful Easter!

 

Leave a Reply

