Cilantro Lime Chicken & Me

I made the most delicious baked chicken yesterday, and it was super easy. I got the idea from The Nourishing Home blog. She’s got a ton of healthy recipes on there. This is her recipe for Lemon Garlic Roasted Chicken, which I stole and transformed.

I didn’t have lemon. But, I had limes! And I had dried cilantro, not fresh. You know what though, I made it work and it was awesome. And nothing screams fresh, delicious, and sweet like some sort of chicken with citrus on it. Citrus on anything, really… I’m a huge fan of lemons, limes, and anything tart, so this was right up my alley. 🙂

Here’s what I did:

I had chicken breasts, so I cut them in half and on an angle (to be fancy), then arranged on a foil-lined baking sheet with a lip. Salt & pepper.

I squeezed one whole lime in a drinking glass, and poured in about 1/4 c of olive oil, a tsp of garlic powder, a tsp of dried cilantro. Then, I took the small whisk I have from my hand mixer and used that to make a “emulsion” … if you will… that I poured over the chicken pieces. If you don’t do that, your olive oil and citrus stays divided, so it will coat unevenly. At least take a fork and beat it together a little if you don’t have a whisk.

Bake in the oven for about 35 mins (maybe less). The first 15-18 I had the chicken covered to keep it moist. I took the foil off the top to make sure it got a little brown on there.

It was awesome. I ate it over lettuce with guacamole, but I’m sure you could do it with fresh mixed veggies and just squeeze more lime over everything.

….On a personal note, since I’m trying to blog not only about the facts but about my feelings on this whole new road I’m traveling…. I’ve been feeling really tired and moody lately. I don’t know if it’s just a phase or if I’m going to be getting a visit from my best friend Flo, but I’m just really cranky. I hate it when that happens. I’m not usually a cranky person. I’m usually a pretty cool and calm, go-with-the-flow type… it takes a lot to make me mad. But, lately, everything and everyone is on my nerves. GAAAAAH. I just want to stay in bed and read a romance novel and forget that I have to work, take care of my son, take care of myself, take care of the dog, do the laundry, cook, do dishes, etc etc etccccc….

I think I need a vacation.

Or a cheat day.

But I really don’t want to cheat, and I honestly can’t afford to go all banana sandwich and ruin my progress. I’ve been drinking coffee with only unsweetened coconut milk and I don’t even cringe anymore. Could you imagine what would happen to me if I drank a DD Coffee Coolata (my favorite) right now?! I’d go into insulin shock!! (This is not a laughing matter! And no, I’m not diabetic, I just googled “shock from too much sugar” and that’s what came up lol.)

Anyway, ugh. I’m going to grab a snack… a piece of fruit and some nuts… more water… maybe more coffee… and hunker down. Have a happy hump day!

One thought on “Cilantro Lime Chicken & Me

  1. sarahlappleyard says:

    Cheat day without the guilt: PB2 and Jelly or banana if you like or even honey. Wayyyyyy less bad for you cause the PB2 doesn’t have all that oil in it. It’s one of my go-to’s for guilt free cheats.

    Like

Leave a Reply

