Change your plans

I don’t know what your dinner plans are for tonight, but cancel them. You NEED to make this roast immediately.

It’s like Fogo de Chao, but WAY BETTER. Like all the amazing garlic/salt/spice flavor you love in beef, but done in these delicate little slices that your deli roast beef would be jealous of.

…maybe that takes it a little too far?

Regardless, it was one of the most amazing things I’ve put in my mouth in more than a month, so I’m pushing it to high Heaven today to tell you to make it. My husband wasn’t a huge fan … he likes his stuff more on the bland side… but for all of you adventurers out there, try it out.

Here’s mine, and here’s how I improvised.

img_3160

Here’s what you need to make this awesomeness (serves 6-8):
1 – 3 to 4 pound beef bottom round roast (make sure you buy the right cut of meat!) mine was a little over three pounds.

For the garlic & herb rub:
8 garlic cloves, peeled – yep, had them
2 teaspoons sea salt – I used standard table salt
1 tablespoon dried parsley – done
1 teaspoon dried thyme– done
1 teaspoon dried rosemary– I didn’t have this, so I used 1/2 tsp of poultry seasoning as a sub.
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper – yep, done
1/4 cup olive oil– done

For the gravy:
1/2 cup water– yep
3 tablespoons arrowroot starch– I don’t buy this, and maybe I should, but I just used corn starch since that’s what I already had on hand.
pan drippings from the roast – yep, done
2 cups GF beef broth– I used one can of regular beef broth. Again, it’s what I had here.
1/2 cup good red organic wine – I did not use wine in this… listen, I’ve got a kid, I don’t really drink that much wine as it is, and my husband doesn’t care for it. I didn’t want a lonely bottle going bad in the cupboard over a half of a cup for this.

So, first, I’d like to start by saying I had a little “help” in the kitchen on this one….. AKA, obstacles I was jumping over like a show pony. I’m very impressed with myself that I was able to conquer this despite my “helper.” If I can, you can, too.

img_3156

  • I used my fancy Tupperware QuickChop chopper for the rub. It gave me a chance to use it and I liked how the garlic was a little chunky.
  • I don’t use my cast iron pan, so that was out. I used a regular casserole pan for cooking the roast, then emptied the drippings into a regular saucepan to cook it down for the sauce. Still turned out great.
  • I have a gas oven, and I cooked it at 375 for 1hr and 10 mins. You can see how rare mine was … I would have done it longer, but I threw out my meat thermometer so I had nothing to use for temperature gauging. Next time I’ll keep it in longer. The redder parts are delicious, but I have a small child so I try to give him the more cooked portions.
  • I almost decided I would never make this again because of the way the aroma filled my house during the cook time. I TAKE IT BACK. I will probably be making this at least once a month for the rest of my life.

Hope you like it as much as me and my son did!!!!! If you’re into bread, I could TOTALLY picture this on a crispy Italian roll. OHMYGOD. I bet it’s to die for! And the sauce is amazing. I wish I had potatoes on hand to just pour it over. Delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

