The 40-Day Bet

March 1 (TODAY!) is so awesome for a lot of reasons.

  1. It’s my momma’s birthday. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MOM! ❤
  2. This year, it’s the first day of Lent. Helloooo Ash Wednesday, to all the Catholics out there!
  3. It’s been 3 months since we thought about all those New Years Resolutions we made, eh? GET ON IT, it’s never too late to start/continue/regroup!
  4. Today will henceforth be known as The Day Mark Dared to Challenge Me. Yep, it’s on.

My story is this.

As you may (or may not) know, I can’t get my sh*t together. I’ll be doing really great, and then something will happen that will totally throw off my game and then it’s like, all inhibitions are out the window and that momentum is gone.

WELL.

Mark and I were talking today and I said, you know, it’s March 1st… first day of Lent… we should really give up eating bad and get our sh*t together (ie, our standard weekly conversation). He agreed, as he always does.

Then I said, “You know, it would be really great to lose twenty pounds before Easter. I think I could do it.” He huffed a laugh and said, TWENTY? Why don’t you try for, like, twelve. We’ve got tons of birthdays in March (he rattles them all off, yes, I know, March is busy) and then says, “You can lose probably 10 in the first two weeks, and when you mess up after that, you’ve got only two more to go to make your goal before Easter.”

WELL.

WELL!

WELL!

I will show you, mister. You think you know I’m going to MESS UP and need a little buffer? HAH! WATCH THIS! You are all now (unwilling) witnesses to our morning shenanigans.

TWENTY POUNDS BY EASTER…… HELL OR HIGH WATER. (does anyone even know what that saying means?!) So far today we had gorgeous strawberry salad, eggs, and lots & lots & lots of water. For dinner it will be chicken and veggies. AND, I am even going to exercise! A lot! Like, every day maybe!

Baby plans are currently on hold anyway, and it’s only forty days.

img_3321

WHO’S WITH ME?! lol!

 

Leave a Reply

