Jack of all trades…

The real saying is: “A jack of all trades is a master of none, but oftentimes better than a master of one.”   …first of all, I didn’t know that was the full saying. Check out more things (you thought) you knew here! https://www.theodysseyonline.com/7-phrases-youve-been-misquoting

I was grumpy when I was thinking about this quote, and after reading the real one, it makes being “well-rounded” seem like a way more positive thing. When I was in high school we were told we needed to be well-rounded in our activities (good grades, theater, sports) in order to get into good colleges, so we all busted our asses doing things we didn’t excel at. It was good because it taught you to take risks, persevere when it would have been easier to give up, etc. But after you got INTO college, you were supposed to pick an area and specialize… and that specialization would be what you decided you were going to do with the rest of your life.

But what about the people who got really good at being “well-rounded,” becoming jacks of all trades and the master of none?

I’ll tell you. We got Liberal Arts degrees and work jobs we’re not 100% in love with! HAHA!

There’s a lot of flux in my company right now… today we’ve lost our 4th team member in only a little over a month, and I’m feeling like (1) I should abandon ship, and (2) already stressed out by the potential work coming to my overloaded plate. It would be so much easier to jump to another trade… another one I haven’t mastered… but I don’t want to do that anymore. Like in marriage, my next one is going to be a calculated move for money and status, not love.

Yes, I said it. LOL

On a more (interesting) note, I made roasted broccoli last night for the first time! I used the Goddess of Paleo’s recipe here… but instead of pancetta I used bacon leftover from breakfast. It was delicious! (Please disregard the weird picture… the light wasn’t on and I was rushing because I WAS STARVINGGG!)

http://nomnompaleo.com/tagged/roasted-broccoli

img_3323.jpg

I have no idea what I’m going to be doing with my long-term life, but my short-term one is pretty good. I exercised last night for the first time since we moved into our new house, I just had some yummy leftovers for lunch, and I bought the amazing BLUE MACHINE Naked juice, which I’m obsessed with. It’s all natural and I feel like I’m hooked up to an IV of vitamins when I drink one. Instant mood booster!

Who is looking forward to the weekend?! I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait to sleep… I’ve been under the weather for a few days now and things are starting to catch up with me. I hope you have a GREAT day today! ❤

Leave a Reply

