Flank Steak

steak

One of the most popular dishes in my house is flank steak. I hadn’t ever really made it before I started paleo, but it quickly became a staple for us! I always marinate the steak for ~24 hours before I put it under the broiler, but with the great weather finally here, I’m going to see if I can convince Mark to fire up the grill instead!

Here’s the marinade I always use, but I switch it up a bit. See my changes below.

http://www.food.com/recipe/marinade-for-flank-steak-42316#activity-feed

  • 3cup oil    … I use olive oil
  • 2tablespoons Worcestershire sauce … I love the Lea & Perrins kind
  • 1cup soy sauce  … today I used the full-salt version, but usually I try to get the reduced sodium one. 
  • 14cup red wine vinegar    … ugh, never! I always use balsamic. Today,  though, I was out of regular balsamic so I decided to spice it up with POMEGRANATE balsamic! Whaaaat!? (I hope this turns out okay lol)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced    …I used 1 tsp of granulated
  • 1 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice   …I used 1 whole lemon
  • 1 teaspoon parsley   …I used dried

The best thing about flank steak is how versatile it is. A lot of people top salads with it,  or just eat it plain with veggies. The best way to serve it, though, is a little on the medium side in paper-thin slices that fall apart when you chew. I always use a big chef’s knife and pray that I don’t slice off my fingers during the process. 🙂

I’ll update this with some finished pictures after it’s done!

Leave a comment